Motivational Monday #4: Life’s Simple Joys..

  “As we express our gratitude we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.” -John F. Kennedy

Thanksgiving is more than an action, it is a lifestyle. Everyone always says “Be thankful”, “Count your blessings”, “say thank you”, but have you ever really taken time to dwell on this concept? I hadn’t until last year when I read One Thousand Gifts :A Dare to LIVE FULLY Right where you are, by Ann Voskamp.

In this book, Anne seeks to find the meaning of full life and strives to learn how to embrace joy in the midst of chaos. She does this by taking on the challenge of writing down 1000 of her blessings in a journal. She finally finds the one thing she has been missing and her life is forever changed: thanksgiving. (This book was amazing and I definitely reccommend it!). This woman has so much joy by simply saying “thank you” to Jesus.

There was a certain measure of joy missing in my life and after reading this it was like the lightbulb went on. I tried to take on a form of Anne’s concept and write a blessing a day (blessings that I wrote ranged from “my lifelong friends” to “delicious sushi”–serious to silly).  This only lasted a few months, but I can honestly say those were some of the most joyful months of my life. I had no reason to complain when I saw how crazily blessed I was.

Now, whenever I find myself complaining or feeling sorry for myself (which happens far too often), I try to find that little box sitting on my dresser from over a year ago and I begin to read my blessings. Everytime I read one I can’t help but smile.

Thanksgiving is one of lifes greatest medicines. I am still no where close to where I should be when it comes to thanksgiving, but I have found that by appreciating life’s simple gifts I have more joy than I could have ever imagined.

Go find just one thing to be thankful for today, you won’t regret it!!

Kat With a K

Tell us your opinon!

