Just Jo in the Kitchen: Peanut Butter Oreo Brownies (a.k.a. Heaven)

So I realize I’ve been promising cookie recipes for a while, and while these aren’t exactly cookies, they will blow your mind with their deliciousness. But first, a quick anecdote.

For my whole life, I have been an Oreo HATER. I literally despised them. They seemed like they should be so good, but then you take a bite, and the cookies are too dry and the white stuff (what is that, even?) did hardly anything to help it’s aridity. And so often, I found myself somewhere where people had food, and the dessert/snack they brought that EVERYONE loved, was Oreo’s. Always Oreos. One day, I was at a retreat with my school, and all us girls were hanging out, eating junk, when lo-and-behold, there came the Oreos. Again. But all of a sudden, someone smart (actually brilliant, if you ask me) pulled out a tub of peanut butter. “What’s that for?” I asked. “Why the Oreos of course!” She may or may not have said those exact words, I can’t remember, but it’s all the same to me. Nonetheless, I was shocked. Peanut butter and Oreos? Who would’ve thought! I was told I just had to try them, so, deciding to be brave and give them a shot, I took a bite and fell instantly in love. And from that day on, I still hate Oreos, but with peanut butter??? Now THAT I will eat.

So what does all of this have to do with anything you ask? Well, shortly after discovering this amazing combination, I discovered this wonderful recipe for Peanut Butter Oreo Brownies.

It even sounds amazing, I know. Since this original discovery, I have made these several times, and each time when I give any away, I get request after request to make them again.

I found this recipe on  lifeallover.com. So no, I am not the mastermind behind it (although I think they got it from another blog too), just the loving consumer.

Here is my experience with them: Eat happy!

IMG_20130404_142223_849

Stack the Oreos in twos.

IMG_20130404_142443_282

LOAD them with peanut butter. I mean, fill them up, ALL THE WAY. You don’t understand, the more, the WAY better.

IMG_20130405_112301_638

I used this delicious mix 🙂 I think me and Betty are starting to become good friends, we tend to hang out a lot.

IMG_20130405_112251_389

Follow the directions to make the mix.

dere

Peanut butter stuffed Oreos go into cupcake liners (very important).

dfe

Cover generously in brownie mix.

ere

Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes. Because all ovens are different, please check frequently so you don’t burn them.

IMG_20130405_105810_925

The finished, DELICIOUS, product!

Love, Just Jo

Tell us your opinon!

