Why I Can’t Think of a Better Title Than, “College Life”

Hey friends! Just Jo here.

So, I’m beginning my tenth week here at college. And while life has been awesome, it has also been crazy.

College has been something completely different than anything I ever expected.

Let’s start from the beginning.

Orientation was exactly like my expectations of college. I expected to be meeting new, awesome people everyday: check. I expected it to be a little awkward with my roommates on our first night: check (or, at least it was for me!). I expected to have a BUNCH of free time: check. Life was going pretty well.

Then classes started.

At first, there was virtually no homework, all of the big tests and projects were way in the future–I had no reason to stress. I was building awesome relationships with so many people, and was constantly doing something fun. It felt like I had all the time in the world to do anything and everything I wanted.

Well, needless to say, that only lasted a little while. Soon enough, those big tests and projects that were “way” in future were right around the corner. Homework started piling up (so. much. reading!). And there was so many options of things to do that I didn’t end up doing anything. Literally, there was one night where I had four different things, all at the same time, that I was planning on going to. But when the time came, and I realized that I could only go to one of them, I was so overwhelmed that I didn’t even go to one.

The rest of these past 10 weeks can be basically summed up like this. The food that I thought wouldn’t got old, got old fast. The people I thought I would be best friends with, changed places with the people that I never thought would be so amazing. Football games are a blast, despite your knowledge–or lack thereof. Your roommates gradually get to know everything about you–even those embarrassing things like that you talk in your sleep and only stink in one armpit (who? me?). And, if you let Him, God will start you on a journey that will leave you forever changed.

It definitely hasn’t been what I expected, but for that, I am grateful. Because God can so far exceed any expectations that I have about anything and everything, why would I want to limit Him to what I think should or will happen?

Have a great week guys!

Tell us your opinon!

