Transitioning: An Encouragement to Future College Students

I recently finished my First semester of College and it’s crazy how fast it flew by! The growth I experienced the past four months is insane and I can’t wait to see what God has in store for me. A year ago I would not have pictured myself being as happy and content as I am today. Here is a little recap of my progression into college as an encouragement to all of those who may be facing anxiety as you anticipate a new transition.

Toward the end of senior year as my friends became increasingly more excited about “heading off to college” and “leaving home”, I became more terrified just at the thought of it. Me, a little 18 year old girl, leaving my family and friends to move three hours away and live with a bunch of girls I didn’t know? I don’t think so! I was very comfortable with life in Riverside, It had been my home the past 13 years and I couldn’t imagine living anywhere else. When people asked me about college I would reply with how any normal 18 year old girl should respond: “I am so excited, I just can’t wait!”. Inside, however, the response was “I am freaking out! I don’t want to go! Please give me another option!”. Through this whole freak out process, something inside me knew that Westmont College was exactly where God wanted me and I couldn’t argue with Him. August 22 approached and I knew it was time to load up the car and begin the scary trek up to college. I literally cried the whole drive up (I know, pretty lame), but what I didn’t realize was that I was in for the most exciting adventure of my life. Lets just say, after the first night I was certain that I was right where God wanted me to be and I was loving every minute of it. The fears I had were all lies and not a single one of them became a reality. I feared that I wouldn’t make any friends- I can probably say that I have 10 best friends. I feared that I would be too dumb for all of my classes- I actually understand what is going on and look forward to class (well, some of the time). And, I feared that running track and field at a collegiate level would wipe me out- track practice is one of the highlights of my day. All this to say, I had all of those stupid fears for no reason. I’m not going to lie, there have been some difficult days and emotional breakdowns, however, college has been the greatest joy in my life thus far and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. God is so faithful and I could not be happier to be exactly where I am at!

Hope this was an encouragement and motivation for you to choose to rely on God’s plan and save yourself the pain of stressing out for no reason, trust me, it will be worth it!

love,

Kat

Tell us your opinon!

