Leadership is a Responsibility

“Leadership is a responsibility. Towards you team, towards yourself, towards others. Slip on one thing, and the fall is felt by all.”

I recently was made a co-captain of my club volleyball team. It was a sudden change for both myself and my team, considering that we already had two other captains. But due to some issues, they were removed from their positions. My team has had quite a bit of drama this past month or so, so stepping into this new position is going to be a difficult task. Being a leader, as the quote says, is a huge responsibility. So as I take on this responsibility, I have begun to put some thought into what it means to be a leader. Here’s what I’ve come up with.

Being a leader means…
1. Being mature: You have to be able to talk about things frankly without getting offended or hurt if someone points out a fault of yours or of the group that you’re leading.
2. Being nice to ALL: As a leader, you can’t have “favorites”. Everyone is equal. No matter what.
3. Having a positive attitude: No matter the situation. The cup is ALWAYS half full. You have to believe or no one else will.

Here are some verses I really liked that I thought went along with it…

“My son, preserve sound judgement and discernment, do not let them out of your sight; they will be life for you, an ornament to grace your neck. Then you will go your way in saety, and your foot will not stumble…” (Proverbs 3:21-23)

“Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong. Do everything in love.” (1 Corinthians 16:13-14)

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people…” (Galations 6:9-10)

I know that it is going to be hard to stick perfectly to all of these criteria, but I also know that as I work on it more and more, it will only get easier. Hopefully through the trials that I will face being put into this position, I will remember to stay strong and keep accountable to this. If you have any other ideas on what it means to be a leader, please feel free to share. We love hearing your ideas 🙂

Love, Just Jo

One thought on “Leadership is a Responsibility

  1. Pingback: Responsible » What Kids Need to Succeed

Tell us your opinon!